Office of the Commissioner for Voluntary Organisations


OCVO is informing the public that there is a scheduled maintenance on our online applications next Wednesday 17th May, 2022 between 2pm and 5pm. During this time the public and voluntary organisations will not be able to access our online applications. The applications will be back online that same day after 5pm. We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause.

Mission and Purpose
The Office of the Commissioner for Voluntary Organisations was set up by the Voluntary Organisations Act 2007 with the task to strengthen the voluntary sector through various initiatives with the specific aim of promoting the work of VOs as well as encouraging their role as partners with the government in various initiatives. Cap. 23 of 2007 Voluntary Organisations Act came into force in November 2007 Prof. Kenneth Wain was the first Commissioner for Voluntary Organisations over the period 2007-2018. The second Commissioner for Voluntary Organisations was Dr. Anthony J. Abela Medici. He served the office in his position over the period 2018-2021.  The office of the Commissioner for Voluntary Organisations is now under the helm of Mr. Jesmond Saliba who was appointed as the Third Commissioner for Voluntary Organisations in 2021.
The ultimate mission of the Commissioner’s office is to give more visibility to the voluntary sector as well as to guarantee transparency and accountability of the organisations that compose it in the carrying out of their important work. In view of this, the Office of the Commissioner is also the regulatory authority responsible for this sector with the aim of monitoring and supervising the activities of these organisations as well as supporting them.


Since November 2020, the Office of the Commissioner for Voluntary Organisations is falling within the Ministry for Inclusion and Social Wellbeing (MISW) and under the Parlamentary Secretary for Sports, Recreation and Voluntary Organisations

Skond ir-Regolamenti fl-Avviżi Legali 375 u 376 tal-2017 rigward is Reġistru tas-Sidien Benefiċjarji